Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Problem Linking 4.3

2007-09-29
2012-11-13
  • Hi folk,

just a brief intro - I'm a newbie Windows programmer, although for whatever it's worth ( possibly not alot ! ) I have 20 years experience crossdeveloping C/C++ for embedded systems. I thought I'd take a look at Notepad++, since I enjoy using it and have some ideas I'd like to try out.

I'm trying to use Visual C++ 2005 Express SP1 ( which also refers to itself as Visual Studio 8 ), together with the Platform SDK ( 2003 R2 ), to build Notepad++. I can compile PowerEditor and Scintilla, but linking is failing.

Rather than dump all 800+ unresolved externals here, I'll just reproduce a couple of examples, the first from Scintilla and the second from PowerEditor :

1>PlatWin.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__CreatePalette@4 referenced in function "public: void __thiscall Palette::Allocate(class Window &)" (?Allocate@Palette@@QAEXAAVWindow@@@Z)

2>AboutDlg.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__DrawIcon@16 referenced in function "protected: virtual int __stdcall AboutDlg::run_dlgProc(unsigned int,unsigned int,long)" (?run_dlgProc@AboutDlg@@MAGHIIJ@Z)

Clearly, I'm missing something fundamental here. Would any kind person like to give me a hint ?:). I did notice that the Scintilla build didn't appear to have built the GTK files, but certainly most of the unresolved stuff does not correspond to GTK symbols, it looks more like primitive Windows stuff.

Cheers,
    Mark de Roussier

• Hokay, I seem to have got this fixed now. I thought I'd just let folk know where I was going wrong, just in case it helps anyone.

Firstly, I had assumed that I should/could use the contents of the Scintilla 'vcbuild' directory. If I had read the Scintilla readme carefully, I would have read the line that says :

'The Visual C++ 6.0 project (.dsp) files are no longer supported but are left