How to search and replace special characters?

• cyberman

I would like to know how can I search and replace special charaters CR/LF(Carriage Return, 0x0D; Line Feed, 0x0A) with regular expression.  For example, I would like to search for two CR/LF and replace with a single CR/LF, i.e. to delete all empty lines.

Please help!!!

Thank you very much for your assistance.

• TextFX has a tool to delete surplus empty lines. It also has a Find & Replace dialog that allows multiline input. Please see the NPPTextFX announcement thread in the plugins forum. (Sourceforge links are all broken).

• Hi everyone,

These posts have been really useful although I am wondering if you can find and replace text using wild cards ?

• pshute

You can use regular expressions for that.  See for details.

• how can i replace Null Values that a apear with another char?

• cyberman

Thank you very much for replying to my post!!!
      I am a newbie. Would you please explain step by step how to do the job with the function of Find &amp?

• Don't take literally the improper display of the Sourceforge forums. Find amp-amp-amp; Replace is a Sourceforge mistake, not mine. To read Sourceforge you need to learn HTML so you can translate & back to ampersand.

As has been posted many times, \r\n support is insufficient to perform your change with the built-in Notepad++ Ctrl+F and Ctrl+H dialogs.

The TextFX plugin includes a new Find and Replace dialog accessible with Ctrl+R or found in the TextFX-Quick menu that will easily perform your change. Given that a new version of Notepad++ is coming soon and that there is no indication that the new messages I need to support modeless dialog boxes for plugins have been added, you may want to wait until after the new version appears and I can make the source code change to support modeless dialog boxes for plugins.