Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

#4796 Unsaved files get no confirmation prompt on close

5.5.x
open
nobody
6.6 (1)
5
2014-05-04
2014-05-02
MAzevedo
No

In all previous versions I always had the option "Remember current session for next launch" (or equivalent) disabled.

When upgrading to version 6.6, if I have any unsaved document and clos Notepad++, there will be no warning and all unsaved files would be lost.

I found that as a workaround, one needs to check the box "Remember current session for next launch" first. Then the "Enable session snapshot and periodic backup" check box shows as being checked. Uncheck it and then uncheck "Remember current session for next launch".

Discussion

  • hurda77
    hurda77
    2014-05-02

    "If this feature is enabled (enabled by default), user won't be asked to save unsaved file as he quits Notepad++, and on startup Notepad++ restores the unsaved file and unsaved untitled document of last session."

    http://notepad-plus-plus.org/news/notepad-6.6-release.html

     
  • MAzevedo
    MAzevedo
    2014-05-02

    Steps to reproduce:

    • Install version 6.5.5
    • In "Preferences"->"Misc.", uncheck "Remember current session for next launch"
    • Write something on an unsaved window and try to close Notepad++. It will ask if you want to save - this is the expected behaviour.
    • Now, upgrade to 6.6
    • Open Notepad++ and create a new document
    • Close Notepad++ without saving. No warning window asking you if you want to save
    • Open Notepad++ again - your document is gone...

    I'm sorry if it was not clearer before, but it seems the "Auto-backup" feature is enabled by option, but disregards the previous "Remember current session for next launch" parameter

     
  • stealth789
    stealth789
    2014-05-04

    Same problem here.

    Thank MAzevedo for tip. I was able to set N++ so it works now, how used to. Sad is, that first I lost 5 opened files :(.

    So default options after migration should be changed! It have to use as default isSnapshotMode="yes", so it will work like before for users not using option to "Remember current session for next launch". Or use another way, as this is some kind of workaround

    Configuration of backup:

    v6.5

    <GUIConfig name="Backup" action="2" useCustumDir="no" dir="" />
    

    v6.6

    <GUIConfig name="Backup" action="2" useCustumDir="no" dir="" isSnapshotMode="yes" snapshotBackupTiming="7000" />
    
     
    Last edit: stealth789 2014-05-04