How to add a new device?

mergan
2013-01-09
2013-06-12
  • mergan
    mergan
    2013-01-09

Hi,

I intend to add a new device to the Spice (e.g.  ngSpice ), which is implemented by 3 nonlinear differential equations. 
    I shoud say that I am a complete novice. I have installed the ngSpice25. The ngSpice is composed of many Programms and folders and subfolders. I have no idea how can I look through the construction of ngspice in order to add a  new device to it.
    My device is already  implemented   in Mathematica. If I implement it in C , is there any possibilty to connect it  to the Spice ?or is there any other way to do it, so that my device is also adaptable by Spice?

I would be very grateful for your  hints in advance.
    Best regards
    Nina

• marcel hendrix
    marcel hendrix
    2013-01-09

> or is there any other way to do it, so that my device is also adaptable by Spice?

You can use a behavioral model and type the euations in directly? The reasons NOT to take this road would be that you need very high speed, or that the converge of your specific equations is very bad with the standard SPICE algorithms. In your own C/XSPICE code you can provide hints and influence the stepping explicitly.

-marcel

• mergan
    mergan
    2013-01-09

Thank you Holger and  Marcel very much.

I'm still a little bit confused.
      The device which is going to be implemented, is a  global model of an spatially  distributed system which is given by three linear  differential equations. I'm going to study all possibilities which you have introduced me.
    Thanks you a lot.
    Best,
    Nina.

• mergan
    mergan
    2013-01-10

Hello,

As far as i understand, There is at least two ways to add a device to Spice.

The first method (as is used to add a memristor) is  explained in http://www.eecs.berkeley.edu/Pubs/TechRpts/1989/ERL-89-45.pdf
    The second method is to use the XSpice which is explained briefly in this page http://users.ece.gatech.edu/~mrichard/Xspice/