There are problems to solve...

2000-10-13
2001-11-21
  • Taso Lyristis
    Taso Lyristis
    2000-10-13

I have started a document (available at http://sourceforge.net/docman/display_doc.php?docid=1098&group_id=12069\) which lists some of the issues with distributed authentication.  I hope to get some feedback from whoever has some to offer.

• Hi taso, great job u've done here I must say. Although I am still a new java programmer please permit me to make a few suggestions as to how to solve the distributed chat problem.

1. On the distributed chat, usernames should be qualified with the name of the server that authenticated them.eg <i>Server.User</i>

2. Each server should keep a list of all users grouped by the servers that authenticated them.

3. If a user wishes to join a non-local room and their is a name collision, the user should be forced to choose an alias.

• Andy Jacobs
      Andy Jacobs
      2000-10-23

I have to agree with bubus,  adding the server name will also enable booting and banning from remote systems.

Another idea is to allow only one a a specific user name in a chat system  or should I say a closed chat system.  You could accomplish this by having each server pass state information (more work that the server has todo) or have a standalone state server that just monitors who is online.  Note that in an authentication world the database will need to be contacted inorder to authenticate someone, the overhead in registering with another server should be small.  These could even be done via HTTP and a servlet or a staic connection.  The HTTP solution has extra overhead in returning the results but it reduces the number of open connection in the system.

I'd love to talk about this some more so let me know what you are thinking.

Andy

• Taso Lyristis
        Taso Lyristis
        2000-10-24