help! command not found error

Help
Nate
2004-11-12
2012-10-06
  • Nate
    Nate
    2004-11-12

i have installed ndiswrapper 0.11 onto Fedora Core 3 (kernel 2.6.9-1.667). i try to run the "ndiswrapper -i <inf file path>" command, but i get "bash: ndiswrapper: command not found" or something like that. i read another post (https://sourceforge.net/forum/message.php?msg_id=2550570) relating to this topic, but it didn't help. i'm not sure what im doing wrong. im really new to linux and everything, so please help me out. thanks a lot.

• xNaN0x
      xNaN0x
      2004-11-12

is the command in /sbin?

if not, is the module running? to check this type "lsmod".

if it is, make sure you are executing the command with root privelages.

if the module is not running type "modprobe ndiswrapper", and then check to see if the command works.

• xNaN0x
      xNaN0x
      2004-11-12

sorry about this, but I didn't mean to say that if the module is loaded that the command would be in /sbin. It is more of an attempt to clarify what is going on in your system.

• Nate
      Nate
      2004-11-14

there is a 'loadndisdriver' command in the /sbin directory. when I type 'lsmod' or 'modprobe ndiswrapper' it returns the same error (bash: lsmod: command not found or bash: modprobe: command not found). i am using root privileges. thanks for your help.

• xNaN0x
      xNaN0x
      2004-11-16

I would start by trying to fix the fact that you don't have "modprobe", you could try "insmod" as replacement for "modprobe".

are you sure you are root when you execute the command(s)?

I personally had run into issues when trying to execute commands through sudo, in suse, and so i had to su to do the commands that I wanted.

• Nate
      Nate
      2004-11-17

ok, im probably doing something wrong here, but here's what i typed
      [...(user)]su
      Password:
      [...root] insmod ndiswrapper
      bash: insmod: command not found
      [...root] modprobe ndiswrapper