Help
francesc
2012-12-11
2013-10-17
  • francesc
    francesc
    2012-12-11

Hello all,

I am just getting familiar with netcdf files.
    I need to edit large netcdf files and I am going to use the netCDF operator NCO.
    I still have to install NCO in a Windows7 computer. It seems that there are 2 different Windows versions to download in the web, although the one compiled by Visual Studio 2010 seems to be the recommended one if I am unsure, right? Are there any installation instructions available?

Because I have no previous experience with NCO, I was interested in the NCO cookbook that is mentioned in the NCO website.
    The NCO cookbook is suposed to be in the link:

http://nco.wiki.sf.net/Cookbook

But when I click on this link, it does not correspond with the cookbook.
    Does any of you know if the NCO cookbook is still available online? And if so, where can I find it?

I need to do the following transformations in the original netCDf files:

- Change the units of some of the variables in the netcdf file (multiplying or dividing by a constant number some particular variables).

- Join two variables from two netcdf files in the same netcdf file and re-name these variables.

- Interpolate climate forcing data from 6-hourly to 3-hourly resolution. It is necessary to perform linear interpolation for some variables and also scaling using the cosine of the zenith angle.

I guess I can do all these transformations to the original netCDF files using the netCDF operator NCO, right?

Any additional resources recomended for new NCO users?

Many thanks in advance!

• Charlie Zender
    Charlie Zender
    2012-12-11

Download the PDF manual and read the relevant sections, which are hyperlinked to the appropriate keywords in the index,
    e.g., rename, interpolate, concatenate.

Yes, use the Visual Studio Windows version of NCO