Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Example on Updates

2009-06-08
2013-06-05
  • Erdal Karaca
    Erdal Karaca
    2009-06-08

What is wrong with this query (I am new to xquery):

--------------test.xq--------------------
    let $result := <root/>
    return (
        insert <child1/> into $result/root
    )

$result
    --------------test.xq--------------------

That file is read as a string, then executed using the xqj api, but mxquery complains:
    ch.ethz.mxquery.exceptions.StaticException: StepExpr expected!

How do I use the update facility by the xqj api?

• Hello,

there are a couple of issues:

1) XQJ and updates: XQJ predates the Update Facility and does not specify how updates should be handled other than "proprietary extensions might exist"
      2) XQJ and language level support in MXQuery: We did not add the language level choice feature present in the command line and MXQuery Java API to the XQJ implementaton.

As a result of 1) and 2), using the Update Facility via XQJ is currently not possible for MXQuery 0.6.0. We are working on adding the relevant code for the next release. If you are willing to compile/modify MXQuery, we could point you to the relevant places to provide a quick fix. Otherwise I recommend switching to the MXQuery Java API (at least until the next release)

3) Your query has a bug: It combines an updating expression (the let) with a simple expression (the $result). This is not possible in the Update Facility, only with the Scripting Facility. Please have a look at the examples at http://mxquery.org/?page_id=31, they might help

Regards,
      Peter

• Erdal Karaca
      Erdal Karaca
      2009-06-10

Thanks...

This workaround works for me:

--------------
      package ch.ethz.mxquery.xqj;

import javax.xml.xquery.XQExpression;
      import ch.ethz.mxquery.contextConfig.CompilerOptions;