MythTV
Scott
2007-02-20
2013-06-03
  • Scott
    Scott
    2007-02-20

Hi,

I am just learning about the possibilities of using the MVP as a frontend for an existing Mythtv system in my house.  Does it seem likely that a version that works with a 0.20 revision backend will be available soon?  I don't want to jump out and purchase one until I know that it's going to work.

Thx!
    Scott

• Don
      Don
      2007-02-21

Scott

I am using MVPMC with .20 myth now and it works reasonably well. I would ask you what it is you want to do with the mvp though. I can watch recordings that are avaiable from the myth server and I can watch live TV from the myth server off any tuner in the myth server. I did have some initial problems with live tv causing the mvp to reboot, but that has become less of an issue and while it still happens, it doesn't happen very often.

Other functions of Myth are not available on the MVP as the MVP is not a full blown frontend in the sense of a myth frontend. I can listen to music from the myth backend and I can view images on the myth backend, just not with the same interface that we see on a myth frontend. The OSD for viewing upcoming shows and setting up recordings is different as well. But then I don't have the $$$$ investment in the mvp that I would have in a computer to handle a full blown frontend either. Nor do I have the time investment in setting up and configuring a mythfrontend os/app either, these folks have done all that for us :)

I would add that I am using a wired mvp going through a wireless adapter right now, but as soon as I pull cable, it will be wired to a switch.