Help
aminmo
2004-12-29
2013-05-13
  • aminmo
    aminmo
    2004-12-29

Hi guys,
    I am new to this and found some quirks with the plugin that has gone unexplained in the documents. First of all I went to apple trailers site and chose a movie to watch. The pllugin kicked off but seemingly tried to cache the entire movie before playing it. So I grew tired of waiting and went to change the mplayerplug-in.conf. here I noticed nomediacache=1 solves the problem and the movies starts playing right away but without caching and frequent pauses. Then I tried download=0 and disabled nomediacache. No change at all and it again started downloading the whole movie. So my question is which parameters optimal for embeded playback in my situation?
    The second Question is why can't I play windows media movies in movies.yahoo.com?

Here's my mplayerplug-in.conf:
    debug=2
    logfile=$HOME/mpp.log
    vo=xv,x11
    ao=arts,esd,oss
    download=0
    #dload-dir=$HOME/tmp
    #keep-download=0
    #noembed=0
    #cachesize=256
    #use-mimetypes=0
    enable-real=1
    enable-wm=1
    enable-qt=1
    enable-mpeg=1
    enable-ogg=1
    enable-smil=1
    qt-speed=low
    #rtsp-use-tcp=0
    #nomediacache=0
    #framedrop=0
    #autosync=0
    #mc=1
    #black-background=0

Unfortunatly nothing gets logged in mpp.log, am I missing something here?

• Kevin DeKorte
      Kevin DeKorte
      2004-12-29

Here is the mplayerplug-in.conf file that I use

---mplayerplug-in.conf----
      vo=x11
      ao=arts,esd
      download-dir=$HOME/tmp
      cachemin=1024

I think you need to read the configuration page a little closer. logfile and download are both depreciated options and do not do anything anymore. How to get output when debug is enabled is in the mailing list search for debug=1 in it.

The nomediacache option should only be used on local high speed >= 100MBps networks or when you are playing media from your local disk.