Help
Shjarr
2009-07-17
2013-05-09
  • Shjarr
    Shjarr
    2009-07-17

Hello.
    First, congratulations for MP3Gain. It's an excellent program.

Well, I'm not an audio tech. I'm only a MP3 enthusiast who likes to hear music at good quality.
    Also, I'm not a programmer and sometimes I think programmers have something especial in their brains, a kind of DNA mutation, since the wonders they can do :)

The reason I wrote this message I will explain next. Usually, when I get the same MP3 song coming from different albums I get MP3s that have different sound quality. The same MP3 song sounds "clear" when it comes from one album but it sounds "poor" when it comes from another album. In fact, I can't put the blame on MP3s since the original songs on different albums are themselves different in sound quality.

Maybe you are asking me: What is a "clear" MP3 and what is a "poor" MP3? My answer is that when I hear the same MP3 song coming from different albums and choose the "best" one, this "best" MP3 seems to have "more" mid/high frequencies than the others and the sound is clear. Of course, there are other things to evaluate: noise, clicks/pops (if it's an old song), some exaggerated frequencies (maybe caused by some weird equalization), etc. But those mid/high frequencies is a very good starting point (in my opinion).

Maybe you will tell me this is not the right way to do that, there are many other things to evaluate, etc. etc. but this "not scientific, not professional and totally subjective method" works fine for me. It works like a suggestion not an ultimate decision.

So I hear the MP3s and discard the "poor" ones to avoid duplicates in my collection. When I get only 2 MP3s of the same song it's easy to choose the "best", but sometimes I get many MP3s of the same song coming from many different albums. So it's very boring to hear the same song many times and choose the "best" one.