Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Help with MP3 Gain

Help
ptfitzy
2010-01-07
2013-05-09
  • ptfitzy
    ptfitzy
    2010-01-07

I am new at using MP3 Gain. Since I record a mixed MP3 CD, I use "Track Mode". I get a few with a Red "Y" for "Clipping" in the first "Clipping" column. How do I reduce the sound level of those songs?
    Also, I sometimes see a Red "Y" in the clip (Track) column. What does that mean?
    I read that in order to control clipping you do a "Ctrl X". I higghligted those songs and did a Ctrl X but it did not change it.
    How do I do a "Constant Gain" to make them all close to the same level?

If I somehow have made an error in the sound level, can I redo the file or album, or is the maximizing I do to them permanent?
    Thanks,
    ptfitzy

• Glen Sawyer
    Glen Sawyer
    2010-01-07

The "clip (Track)" column means "if you do 'Track Gain' with the current Target Volume, then the mp3 will have some clipping".

Go to "Options - Advanced…" and check the "Enable 'Maximizing' features" box. That will enable the "Ctrl+X" you read about.

All changes made by MP3Gain are undo-able. You don't even have to directly "undo" a gain change before making another one. You can just change the volume as many times as you want without affecting the overall quality of the mp3.

• ptfitzy
    ptfitzy
    2010-01-12

Thanks for your help. OK. If I do the "Ctrl X" it shows the "Clipping" on the songs, but they are now under "Maximum Noclip" such as a  negative with a number. In reality when listening to the songs, they are a tiny bit louder whether I do a Ctrl X or just click add Folder.

When I add a Folder, I get a box coming up telling me "Read only File" and gives me a "Warning, Read only file will not be able to be modified". Is this supposed to come up?  I click on Yes to all since it is a folder and it adds the songs.