Some feedback

2005-07-24
2012-09-15
  • I'm an assistant dancing instructor so I have to play music in the dancing lessons. I've tried many MP3/Ogg player programs and settled on MoreAmp.

The requierements in the dancing lessons are somewhat special. First, unlike when DJing at a party, one mostly plays one song only and wants playback to stop after because the teacher mostly gives some tips or shows some steps after each song. Also, it's often necessary to make songs a bit slower or faster (ideally without affecting the pitch) so people who are struggling with the steps can easier follow the music.

For these reasons, MoreAmp works very well in this setting. I use it on two notebooks (one is a P2/500, the other P3/800) with Linux (Kubuntu and Debian testing). The screen resolution is 800x600 and 1024x768, both are quite usable.
    Here is a screenshot: http://tud.at/programm/moreamp-screenshot.png

I created separate playlists for "standard" (waltz, Viennese waltz, tango, quickstep, slow foxtrot), "latin" (samba, rumba, cha-cha, jive, paso doble) and "special" (mambo, salsa, merengue etc.) dances and open them in separate MoreAmp instances (it's very useful that the instances remember they playlists and open them automatically). To play songs, I mostly double-click on the desired song or use the keyboard arrow keys and Enter to start it. When changing the tempo is required, I change it with the mouse in the Effects window. (The equalizer is not needed in this setting so it's switched off. The settings I use are visible in the screenshot.) The buffering system of MoreAmp ensures that I can rip CDs in the background even during playback without skips or other problems.

So, for my needs, MoreAmp works very well. I have a few simple ideas for enhancements which would make it even more user-friendly.