Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Are WAV files supported?

Help
delange
2011-06-20
2013-05-29
  • delange
    delange
    2011-06-20

Hello,
    I just started playing around with ReadyDLNA. My music library is mostly WAV with only a few AAC files purchased through iTunes. To test the DLNA server I use MLPlayer on my iPod Touch. It does see my ReadyNAS NVX DLNA server and it can connect to it. Trouble is that I don’t see any of my WAV files when I navigate to Album, Artist or Genre. The few AAC files are visible in those folders.
    Does minidlna support WAV files and metadata in WAV files? My WAV files are tagged with INFO chunks.

• Justin Maggard
    Justin Maggard
    2011-06-21

No, we don't support parsing INFO chunks in WAV files today.  There seems to be no official standard for WAV file tags, so it implementations seem to vary.  I just checked in code that can parse the tags that Audacity appears to write out, but I can't guarantee that it will work with files output by any other programs.

• delange
    delange
    2011-06-21

WAV does have an official tagging method. WAV files are built using RIFF chuncks. There is a well know RIFF chunk called LIST witch is a part of the official standard (the same is used for AVI files). The LIST chunk with a header id called INFO has several frames to store song information; a couple of examples are:
    IART Artist
    ICRD Creation Date
    IGNR Genre
    INAM Name (Title)
    IPRD Product (Album)
    The above frames are only a fraction of the available LIST INFO frames.

Some more information about LIST chunks:
    http://www.daubnet.com/en/file-format-riff
    http://www.johnloomis.org/cpe102/asgn/asgn1/riff.html
    http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/TagNames/RIFF.html
    http://www.digitizationguidelines.gov/audio-visual/documents/listinfo.html