Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Is minidlna a DMC or DMS?

Brian
2012-04-24
2013-05-29
  • Brian
    Brian
    2012-04-24

Hi, i started learning DLNA recently, and i found minidlna is a implementation of DLNA.
    But i'm not sure minidlna is a DMC or DMS?
    Thanks.

• Cecil Coupe
    Cecil Coupe
    2012-04-24

Minidlna is a server (for linux primarily).  Many clients/devices can talk to it, some better than others,

• Brian
    Brian
    2012-04-24

Thanks for ccoupe's reply.
    I wonder is there is any DMC open source project like minidlna?
    I need to realize a DMC application on Android, but i have no idea about how to get start.
    Thanks a lot.

• Craig Chambers
    Craig Chambers
    2012-04-24

So you're trying to shortcut on a college project?? :-/

From the fron page of this site… "MiniDLNA (aka ReadyDLNA) is server software with the aim of being fully compliant with DLNA/UPnP-AV clients."

Not sure if you are aware, but Android apps are written in Java, whereas miniDLNA is written in C.

"I need to realize a DMC application on Android, but i have no idea about how to get start."

Do you really only want a controller, and not a renderer? 

You could start by searching Google…

http://www.lmgtfy.com/?q=android+open+source+DLNA

Broaden your search by replacing DLNA with upnp.

/Craig

• Brian
    Brian
    2012-04-25

Thanks craigchambers.
    I only want a controller.
    For "Not sure if you are aware, but Android apps are written in Java, whereas miniDLNA is written in C."
    i think it can use JNI to realize the interoperation of java and C, so it's not a problem.

Is there any DMC open source project?

• Cecil Coupe
    Cecil Coupe
    2012-04-25