Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

GSL install with mingw_w64

Help
rgnoob
2012-07-16
2013-06-06
  • rgnoob
    rgnoob
    2012-07-16

Hi,
    I am new to mingw_w64 and i am trying to install GSL to use with it.  I have successfully installed GSL multiple times now, but when i try to compile code, both my msys and the mingw_w64 cannot find the GSL libraries.  I am trying to use GSL and mingw with a utility called gnumex to use with matlab.

Thank you

• rgnoob
    rgnoob
    2012-07-16

Oh sorry, I am using the TDM-GCC build for windows 64 bit

• rubenvb
    rubenvb
    2012-07-16

When you compile GSL from the MSYS shell, you can specify a

--prefix=

option. What I usually do is make the prefix something like

--prefix=/gsl

so that make install will copy everything to MSYS' "/gsl". This can then be copied to somewhere GCC can find it, for example

mingw64/x86_64-w64-mingw32

Make sure you either build statically or you copy the dll's to somewhere in PATH. (like "mingw64/bin").
    You can obviously set the -prefix option to the mingw64 directory directly, but I find that has too much chance of error and soiling the toolchain's install.

• rgnoob
    rgnoob
    2012-07-16

Thank you for the quick reply!

"Make sure you either build statically or you copy the dll's to somewhere in PATH. (like "mingw64/bin"). You can obviously set the -prefix option to the mingw64 directory directly, but I find that has too much chance of error and soiling the toolchain's install."

The dll's you're referencing, are they the dll's for gsl? What does it mean to build statically?Sorry, i know its probably a dumb question.. Once the make install unpackages everything into say the /gsl folder, all i have to do is copy it to the existing mingw_64 folder?

Thanks

• rgnoob
    rgnoob
    2012-07-16