Won't run

Help
Damon
2010-12-21
2013-05-30
  • Damon
    Damon
    2010-12-21

I have installed Media Tomb on my Ubuntu 10.04 LTS server and when I try to run it freezes after showing the http link to go to and I have to hit Ctrl + C to get a new command line and when I try to go to that link it doesn't work. I am new to this and am not sure why this is happening. I have tried using sqlite and mysql with it but neither work. Any ideas?

• mianbao
    mianbao
    2010-12-21

Hey coomikaze, it might actually be working fine.  Mediatomb runs in the foreground of the shell you run it in, which means it will look like it is frozen after it shows the http link.  If you don't like this, you can run it with an & after the command to force it to run in the background, like so:

sudo mediatomb &

So the bigger problem is when you go to that link, it doesn't work.  Is it just a broken link when you go to it?  Or a log in screen?  What do you get?

mianbao

• Damon
    Damon
    2011-01-05

Sorry for the delayed response. Thanks for the advice about adding & thats what is was. The link is still not opening though. I get the "The connection has timed out." message. It seems to start up just fine on the server. I am using Firefox and entering in the link exactly as I should. What could the issue be?

• mianbao
    mianbao
    2011-01-13

Hey again.  So you're trying to follow the link right on the same server?  Or somewhere else on the network?  If it's somewhere else on the network, perhaps you need to open up ports on the network (honestly I'm not sure how to do that, though…it might need to be done on your router or on the server itself or both). 

If you can't open the link right on the same machine that is running mediatomb that's pretty weird.  Also, it's interesting that it's telling you that the connection has timed out, rather than it couldn't find it.  So that indicates to me that mediatomb is running but  Firefox can't get to it, which points to a ports issue.