Separate trees for "Music" and "Audio Drama"

2008-11-22
2013-05-30
  • Andreas Haberl
    Andreas Haberl
    2008-11-22

Hi,

I have set up a mediatomb-server on my ubuntu machine and bought my little daugher an audio renderer for christmas. She wants to listen her audio dramas when going to bed.

Basically it works fine, but there is one issue left:

I have a lot of music mp3 and the audio dramas of my daughter get lost in the standard "Audio" tree. I read that you can customize the media tree to your own needs with some scripting. Sadly I'm not really experienced with that. So maybe anyone could give me a hand...

What I'm  thinking about is a tree called "Audio Drama" and another called "Music" instead of the standard "Audio" tree.
    If a mp3 has a certain genre (e.g. "children" or "drama") then it should be assigned to the "Audio drama" tree. All other mp3s are assigned to the "Music" tree.

Finally it would be nice, if the "Audio drama" tree is partitioned a slightly different as usual. Instead of "artist" and "album", what is still fine for the "music" tree, it would be better to have something like "serial" and "episode". Of course these information are stored in the mp3 tags.

If anyone has a script, that can do what I have described, it would be great if he wants to share.

regards anderl

• Jin
      Jin
      2008-11-23

What you want is not difficult to do, however your vision is so specific that I doubt that you will find an existing script for it.

Please have a look at the scripting documentation, it gives a very detailed explanation on the default import script, after reading it you should be able to understand the basics and adapt the script to fit your needs, you don't need to be a JS expert to do it.

I can help you if you get stuck or have questions, but I will not do it for you :>

As a first hint, you probably want something similar in the addAudio() function:

if ((genre == 'drama') || ((genre == 'children'))
      {