Classical Music Browsing

2008-12-12
2013-05-30
  • Hello,

I am quite new to UPnP and media tomb, so I am still trying to figure out whether the following is in the scope of the specification and/or already implemented in media tomb.

Generally speaking, my feeling is that most of the music related software was written by and for people with mostly pop music in mind, and even the uPNP spec shows that the authors did not necessarily think of classical music or jazz. IMHO a uPNP server should allow:

1. model music and a logical hierarchy beyond id3 tags though some maintenance interface
    2. allow more sophisticated content browse and search.

Perhaps media tomb can already offer what I am after, I'll study the source code.

To start with, this is the way I would like to use uPNP on a client. There should be some kind of browse mode, which will determine how the database is organised into a tree:

Mode/Popular
    Mode/Jazz
    Mode/Opera
    Mode/ :
    Mode/Classical
    Mode/Classical/Epoch
    Mode/Classical/Type
    Mode/Classical/Composer
    Mode/Classical/Performer

Mode is not necessarily Genre, but the way music is browsed. For popular music the approach artist/album/song is sufficient, for Jazz composers and arrangers are as interesting to know as performers.

In classical music, Epoch exists and would be something along the lines of:
    Epoch/Baroque
    Epoch/ :
    Epoch/Wiener Klassik/
    Epoch/Wiener Klassik/Haydn
    Epoch/Wiener Klassik/Mozart
    Epoch/Wiener Klassik/Beethoven

In Type I would like to see:

Type/String Quartett
    Type/Piano Sonata/
    Type/:

Obviously, the same subtree could appear for busy composers if they apply, i.e. if a set of works can be combined into a logical group:

Mode/Classical/Composer/Beethoven
    Mode/Classical/Composer/Beethoven/String Quartett
    Mode/Classical/Composer/Beethoven/Piano Sonata

Going beyond that, if I have several recordings of one sonata:

../Beethoven/Piano Sonata/No32 Opus 111/