2008-09-04
2013-05-30
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • niz23
    niz23
    2008-09-04

Hi.

Im new to this project.
    I have evaluated several uPnP servers and find mediatomb best suited.
    Mediatomb have many features that is not other servers and PS3 suport seem pretty solid.

I am looking into what can be accomplished with the "active item" feature.
    In terms of integration against an existing database where metadata are located.
    However it lack documentation even though there are references to "Active Item documentation" in some places.

What I want to know is which preferences/metadata can be modified through python scripting?
    Some comments in trunk source code indicate that everything except some DB IDs can be changed.

Is it possible to send command line arguments to the python script?

Can I add my own custom xml tags that I connect to db column that I have added?
    Please give me some hint where too look in the code.

One other solution to above would be some type of remote procedure call/soap interface against mediatomb that can be used. Is there one?

/niz23

• Jin
      Jin
      2008-09-07

Hi,

well, the active items feature has always been very experimental. I do not think that anyone is using it, so we did not improve it any further; actually I only added it because I did some demo where I was controlling a light bulb from a UPnP player by triggering an active item on MediaTomb (which then launched a script that turned on/off the lightbulb switch that was connected to my notebook).

From my memory I can tell that you can change the title, mimetype, upnp class, description, location and "state" of the object via the active item XML. That's it, you can not access the database directly, you can not change the object ID, you can not mess around with resources, etc. So its really simple.