Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Video Support

-DK-
2005-11-08
2013-05-30
  • -DK-
    -DK-
    2005-11-08

As I have mentioned in other threads, I'm new to the video world in a Linux environment. I am curious as to if there is anything that can be downloaded to add support for more types of video.

In Windows there are codec packs that can be installed which allow for all types of video to be run and watched.

I have noticed that more video plays on through my windows box than does on the linux box, when it comes to the DSM320.

Is this a limitation of Mediatomb itself or is there something that I can do on the OS side to allow for more variety of video playback?

• Jin
      Jin
      2005-11-08

The decoding of the videostream is done on your mediarenderer, so it does not really matter if the OS has any codecs installed or not (it would only matter if the server does transcoding)

There are two possibilities:
      Mimetypes are not recognized correctly: we are using filemagic to determine the mimetype of a file. I had a problem with FC4, that filemagic recognition of mpeg files was broken. I had to install file-4.15-1 package from the FC development release to get it to work.

Some UPnP servers under windows support transcoding, meaning: if your renderer can not play a specific format, the server will transcode the videostream to something your DSM320 can play. That of course requires some amounts of CPU power on your server. MediaTomb does not yet support transcoding, but this feature will be implemented at some point.