Help
Edwin
2014-02-07
2014-03-30
  • Edwin
    Edwin
    2014-02-07

Hi,
    I hope this is a right forum for my question (I apologize if not).
    I want to update models ran using the jags.parallel function from the R package R2Jags.
    I have used a supercomputer to ran models with 4 chains. I have ran them for 180,000 iterations without reaching convergence according to the Gelman & Rubin statistic. The walltime of the supercomputer (48h) does not allow me to run the models longer. Thus, I want to update the models but available functions (I am not a programmer), i.e. update.rjags, do not update in parallel. I would appreciate if someone can guide me on how to overcome this limitation. Alternatively: is it a valid approach to just re-run the models using the posteriors of previous runs to initialize the update?
    Many thanks in advance.

• Matt Denwood
    Matt Denwood
    2014-02-07

Hi Edwin

I don't use the R2Jags package, but if you can get a full representation of the parameter states of the model (including RNG states) when it exits, then this can be used to start a new simulation effectively (almost) as if you hadn't stopped it. Using JAGS at the command line, this would involve using a 'parameters to' statement and then a 'parameters in' statement to re-initialise the model after restarting JAGS. Using the rjags interface you use state(…,internal=TRUE) on an existing JAGS model, and then pass the result back as the inits argument to a new jags.model() call. Alternatively, the runjags package allows you to extend models more directly using the extend.jags function, and can handle chains over parallel cores using method='parallel' or method='rjparallel', or method='snow' for using a distributed computing cluster (you can also change a model run on a single core to running over multiple cores by changing the method argument to extend.jags).

Hope that helps,

Matt

Last edit: Matt Denwood 2014-02-07
  • Martyn Plummer
    Martyn Plummer
    2014-02-07