Cvs compilation problem on Slackware Linux

Help
2009-09-01
2013-05-01
  • Wolfgang Pichl
    Wolfgang Pichl
    2009-09-01

Hi,
    I am trying to build lprof cvs on Slackware-12.2. I have installed scons-1.2.0 on the system, so I should not need a scons.local from the release. Now I have two problems:

First, the README file does not really tell one, how to bootstrap the cvs, and I have no experience with scons (if it were GNU autotools, I would know, what to do :-). So, after setting up the environment for Qt4 (see below) I first simply typed 'scons' without any options. And the build started, but quickly ended up with a Qt problem.

Slackware-12.2 still has Qt-3.3.8, but I have additionally installed Qt-4.5.1 in /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.1. Whenever I have to build software against Qt4, I source a small script in order to set up the environment (QTDIR, PATH, PKG_CONFIG_PATH, PYTHONPATH for PyQt). This has always worked perfectly, but with lprof it fails. Scons ends up with the following error:

File "/usr/local/src/lprof/SConstruct", line 50, in <module>
    Package QtGui was not found in the pkg-config search path.
    Perhaps you should add the directory containing `QtGui.pc'
    to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
    No package 'QtGui' found
    Package QtCore was not found in the pkg-config search path.
    Perhaps you should add the directory containing `QtCore.pc'
    No package 'QtCore' found
    Package Qt3Support was not found in the pkg-config search path.
    Perhaps you should add the directory containing `Qt3Support.pc'
    No package 'Qt3Support' found
    Package QtAssistantClient was not found in the pkg-config search path.
    Perhaps you should add the directory containing `QtAssistantClient.pc'
    No package 'QtAssistantClient' found
    OSError: 'pkg-config QtGui QtCore Qt3Support QtAssistantClient --libs --cflags'
    exited 1:

However, PKG_CONFIG_PATH was indeed set correctly in the shell.
    'echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH' yields: