Help
Enimaq
2012-11-02
2013-03-31
  • Enimaq
    Enimaq
    2012-11-02

Hi,

I am fairly new to using an LCD attached to my server but have had a matric orbital MX213 for several years stuffed ina drawer and now I want to attach it to my Solaris server. I'm getting rather confused trying to install lcdproc and get the LCDd daemon running on Solaris (Open Indiana).

I am running this on a HP Microserver  and have installed lcdproc v1.5.5  and tried v1.5.6 but I don't know what to do to get the server LCDd running. I have been trawling the web for any other guides or help but have drawn a blank. I have managed to install and compile lcdproc client fine but it cant connect to the server as that's the part I am failing on.

The OS can see the display fine (I think its configured as /dev/term/0) and I have setup the LCDd.conf  file (using MtxOrb driver)  but i don't know how to start the server daemon. Can anyone give me some pointers as to what to what to try please? Am i doing something really silly , or not doing something thats really obvious?

I have gone through this link as its the closet guide I could find: http://cryptographrix.com/tagged/LCDd, but where he talks about starting it up I don't have the LCDd to run! 

Here's some server outputs for your reference, if you need any further info  please let me know:

root@MicroServer:/usr/local/bin# uname -a
    SunOS MicroServer 5.11 oi_151a5 i86pc i386 i86pc Solaris

root@MicroServer:/usr/local/bin# cfgadm -al
    usb8/3                         connected    configured   ok         Mfg: Matrix Orbital  Product: MO USB LCD MX2xx  NConfigs: 1  Config: 0  <no cfg str descr>

root@MicroServer:/usr/local/bin# cd /dev/term/
    root@MicroServer:/dev/term# ls -al
    total 9
    drwxr-xr-x   3 root root   3 2012-11-02 09:47 .
    drwxr-xr-x 243 root sys  243 2012-11-02 09:47 ..
    lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root  48 2012-11-02 09:47 0 -> ../../devices/pci@0,0/pci103c,1609@12/device@3:0