KXSTITCH where

Gordon
2011-08-16
2013-05-20
  • Gordon
    Gordon
    2011-08-16

Hi

I am new to this and hope I am in the right place. I am trying to get kxstitch for kde4, I have read about a git and am wondering how i find, download and install the latest version. I am running LMDE so it might not work anyway but I would like to give it a try. By the way I am not a code/programmer person mearly an end user.

Any help much appreciated

Cheers

Gordon

• If you go here this will show the git commits with the latest ones at the top.  Click on the snapshot link at the end of the top log entry, this will allow you to download the latest source code as a tarball.

Untar it and cd into the folder created.  There is a build script, run it with ./build.sh, you need to have cmake installed along with the KDE and QT development packages.  You will also need the ImageMagick and ImageMagick++ development packages.

When building is complete, you will be asked to enter the root password to install it.  When it is installed run it from the command line with the command kxstitch, or it should appear in your desktop menu.

Note that this version is no where near as feature complete as the KDE3 version, but I am working on it.

If you have any problems, let me know.

Regards

Steve

• Gordon
    Gordon
    2011-08-17

Hi Steve,

I installed cmake and ran ./build.sh and got the following

a7n8x kxstitch-eb192b9 # ./build.sh
    - The C compiler identification is GNU
    - The CXX compiler identification is GNU
    - Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
    - Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc - works
    - Detecting C compiler ABI info
    - Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
    - Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
    - Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ - works
    - Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
    - Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
    CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindKDE4.cmake:98 (MESSAGE):