translation

2009-02-15
2013-05-20
  • Brian Stidsen
    Brian Stidsen
    2009-02-15

I would like to (help) translate kxstitch, namely to danish. Is this possible?

• Of course it is.  No one else has volunteered for this and I would be grateful for any effort that you can make toward it.

If you are not familiar with KDE translations then there are some resources available for the KBabel tool which should be used to manage the message catalogue translations.

If you need any help, I will do my best to do so, although I am no expert with KBabel I have used it to do the en_GB translation.

If you can complete the translation then you can send it to me and I will add it to the KXStitch sources.

Regards

Steve

• Hi,

I am willing to try to translate KXStitch into Polish bit I have no idea how the process looks like eg. I do not know which files are to be translated. I installed KXStitch on Ubuntu10.04/Gnome. Does it make a difference?

This software is worth translating into ALL languages!

Juliusz

• UPDATE!

I found the 'poedit' software. It makes the translation very easy. Is this the right way just to translate the .po file and send the translated pl.po to you Steven? What about the help files?

J

• Firstly, in a shell in the source folder (you did install from source as I recall).  type the following commands:

make -f admin/Makefile.common package-messages
    make package-messages

This will create a kxstitch.pot file in the po folder and update any of the existing po files with any new messages.
    Copy the kxstitch.po file to pl.po, this will be the Polish translation file.
    Then use kbabel if you have it to edit the messages. poedit appears to be a generic po file editor, but may do just fine.