<b> 0.7.10 MSG:Unable to Locate [js3250] DLL

Help
RIck
2008-12-03
2013-04-03
  • RIck
    RIck
    2008-12-03

I'm new to the FTP world.  I'd heard about Komposer via the Kim Komando show ( http://www.komando.com > downloads) so I downloaded and (believe I) installed 0.7.10. 

My OS is Win 2-K at SP-4. 

When I click on the start > program > Komposer icon, I get message

"Komposer.exe - Unable to Locate DLL"

"The dynamic link library js3250.dll could not be found in the specified pat
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Start Menu\Programs;.;C:\WINNT\system32;C:\WINNT\system;C:\WINNT\;C:\WINNT\system32;C:\WINNT\;C:\WINNT\system32\Wbem. " 

This is followed by the standard OK button. (And yes, several directory paths are repeated, just as you see them, above. Also, that is a period character after the first path specified - i.e., "Programs" semicolon period semicolon "C:\&quot; etc.)

Yes, I've read the same reports posted by DANDYUK (11-17-08) and PETERJAY (03-14-08) but neither gives their OS environment or the exact error message. 

I found two copies of  js3250.dll on my system.
      The first is in the root directory where KompoZer installed itself, C:\Program Files\KompoZer 0.7.10\.  That .dll file is dated 08-31-07. 

The second is in C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\.  That .dll file is dated 11-13-08. 

A lot of good either one of them do me; the path doesn't include either directory. 

Sure would appreciate it if someone would post a resolution to this problem.  Falling back to an older version (PeterJay's 2nd post) doesn't really fix the problem; just masks it. 

Thanks

RIck

• RIck
      RIck
      2008-12-03

O.K., after some playing, I figured it out. 

The downloaded file is a .ZIP file.  Assuming that you parked the downloaded file in a special DOWNLOADS -named folder like I do, here's how to make the program load properly:

Start by opening Windows Explorer and display the contents of your download folder.