Questions about Modularity

Anonymous
2013-04-24
2013-04-26

• Anonymous
    2013-04-24

Hi ~

First off, thanks for making this tool available!

I am soon to be entering into graduate school and have already begun to explore what KH Coder can offer me as a student of sociology. In fact, I am planning on using KH Coder for conducting the content analysis to be used in my thesis. I have some background in statistics and linear algebra, but have not yet taken any courses on graph theory. So, in that respect I am a beginner. I have a question about how modularity is being calculated in KH Coder.

I have found this explanation of modularity cited in a number of papers: http://www.pnas.org/content/103/23/8577.full

Is this similar to what is underlying the network modularity calculations in KH Coder?

Last edit: Anonymous 2013-04-24
  • HIGUCHI Koichi
    HIGUCHI Koichi
    2013-04-24

Hello from Japan.

KH Coder uses "igraph" package of R to detect communities. So you can consult the manual of igraph here for details:
    http://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/igraph/igraph.pdf

KH Coder uses igraph function "edge.betweenness.community," "fastgreedy.community" (modularity) and "walktrap.community" (random walks).

According to the igraph's manual p.89, you would be able to find the definition of modularity in this paper:
    http://arxiv.org/abs/cond-mat/0408187

Best regards.

• Anonymous
    2013-04-25

Hello~

You've already been very helpful but I have a few more questions.

The first couple are about the 'export word-context matrix' files. What are the numbers that are in the output file? Is this a matrix of the Jaccard coefficients for co-occurring words? Is this a type of bigram matrix? Or, is this something else? Also, please explain what is meant by 'context'.