Menu

Do you use KeyNote?

Ken Rushia
2007-03-12
2013-04-08
<< < 1 2 3 > >> (Page 2 of 3)
  • Anonymous

Anonymous - 2007-07-12

Yes, indeed! I've been using keynote for several years, since the original author was still working toward a version 2. I use Keynote for: address book; journal; general information index (life organizer); project management (mostly migrated to Flyspray now); configuration management; userid/password vault. -- Alltogether about 5MB of keynote data spread across 2 keynote files. It's quite indespensable.

Kenote and Quicken are the only two Windows hosted applications I still use regularly and I use them both from a Win2k guest in a VMWare Server virtual machine on Ubuntu Feisty (7.04)now; otherwise my household is a Microsoft free zone. It works for me, but I'd just as soon not have to run a Win2k guest.

When the original author abandoned Keynote I was disappointed. I was looking forward to version 2. I did look at the source code but was turned off by Delphi, some proprietary libraries and other things. I really didn't want to take it on.

Recently I looked at a number of Linux native applications: NoteCase, BasKet; ... others. I am running converted Keynote files in BasKet now as an experiment and am not entirely happy with it. So, I'll likely continue with Keynote in the Virtual Machine. ... BTW, the Keynote to BasKet data port is very simple and requires no data manipulation between the export and import steps. See my comment on one of the "wish list" tickets on how to do the export/import step.