KeePass on Multiple Computers via Cloud

Help
steelej
2012-11-08
2012-11-19
  • steelej
    steelej
    2012-11-08

I have been using a cloud service for 10 months to synchronise the KeePass V2 database to three computers

I only use a password for my database. Windows login would not work and a keyfile would have to be copied to each machine and if that file was also replicated through the cloud the security it provides could be weaker. I am unable to use USB storage on one of the computers.

I have two copies of the database file on each computer - let us call these Local.kdbx and Cloud.kbdx.

The Local.kbdx is just that - it is the one I open on each computer using KeePass.

The Master.kbdx is the Master copy that is replicated using cloud services.I have reservations about using Dropbox as the security has been compromised in the past. I have used both SpiderOak and am now using TeamDrive. Both of these encrypt the data on the cloud servers so it is double encrypted and makes me fell more comfortable.

One each computer I have the following two Triggers.

Synchronise Local with Master when Local database is opened
    Synchronise Local with Master when Local Database is saved or closed

I open the Local version on each machine when I use KeePass. The first trigger fires and causes the Master/Cloud copy and the local copy to update each other with any unrecorded changes.

If the Master copy has been changed then it replicates to all machines sharing the database in the cloud.

The same thing happens on the file saving trigger so that any changes made to the local database are replicated to other computers when the local database is manually saved or closed.

This is slightly more complex than just storing the database in the cloud copy but it enables any conflicts between multiple updates to be better managed and, once set, up is transparent to the user.