Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Trust level of ports and plugins?

Help
2014-04-17
2014-05-27
  • Todd W. Powers
    Todd W. Powers
    2014-04-17

I have been using KeePass for several years now, but I have never installed any plugins or run any alternative ports of KeePass. I would like to synchronize my passwords with my Android device, but I am concerned about trusting any plugin or Android port of KeePass.

How can we be reassured that these ports/plugins aren't collecting our logins and covertly sending them to someone? Do they have to be vetted in some way? What happens when they release an update? Do they have to be re-vetted?

I am concerned about this vulnerability of ports and plugins. What assurance do we have that our information remains safe when using these third-party products?

• wellread1
    wellread1
    2014-04-17

KeePass has been in existence for over 10 years and is widely trusted and highly regarded.

However there is no standard for auditing or vetting open source software, including KeePass, plugins, ports and packages. A common presumption is that other competent developers occasionally review the source code and/or compile it and would report malicious code if they found it. The average user must trust the developer and decide to use a product based on its reputation, or audit and compile the source code themselves.

The trust relation for plugins, ports and packages (products) is separate from KeePass. It is between you and the product developer. The KeePass developer does not have the resources to vet all products and product revisions. Some comments about plugin security can be found at http://keepass.info/help/v2/plugins.html.

Note: Several popular plugins are written by the KeePass developer, with whom you already have a trust relation if you use KeePass.