Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Another way of entering Master Password

Mark377
2012-05-02
2012-11-20
  • Mark377
    Mark377
    2012-05-02

Hi,

I have my master password stored in a text document on the desktop. This document does not have to be secure, because all lines of text are scrambled. It would be next to impossible for anyone to guess my password.  When I launch or unlock Keepass, I open the document, select (highlight) the password, and drag it into the "Master Password" field. There's no need for typing nor copying/pasting and having you password end up on the clipboard.  As far as I know, the password is never copied to the clipboard. It seems that entering your password this way protects you against key loggers. (OS: Windows XP Home)

Mark

• John
    John
    2012-05-06

Relying on "hiding" your master password is not good security.  The calculation is quite simple - it is a dictionary search.
    Assume you have hidden your password in 1,000 characters of text.  Your password will be consecutive characters to make the copy work.
    To try all the 1 character paswords is 1,000 attempts.
    To try all the 2 character passwords is 999 attempts > call it 1,000
    To try all the 3 character passswords is 998 attempts > call it 1,000

To try all the 20 character passwords is 980 attempts > call it 1,000
    So, to try all the “1 to n” character passwords in “m” characters is less than "n x m" attempts.  For up to a 10 character password hidden in 1,000 characters only requires less than 10,000 attempts, which is not secure enough for me.