Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Database changes size Depending on where its synched from

J. B.
2013-11-04
2013-11-04
  • J. B.
    J. B.
    2013-11-04

I have a master copy of my database on Dropbox. I have about five other machines with local databases that I sync with it, as well as a couple spares (at work I have a copy on my local machine, and also on a shared drive).

I have noticed that, for example, when I synched with my Windows XP system today, the saved database size on Dropbox is 4,803,390 bytes. But when I sync my Windows 7 laptop to the same file, it changes to 3,054,446 bytes.

I can observe this by monitoring the Dropbox folder on both machines. That is, I note the size of the local and Dropbox database on one machine after I sync, then compare it to the local and Dropbox version son the other machine. The local databases both retain their size after the sync. The Dropboix copy changes size depending on which machine synced last.

I can ping-pong back and forth, and if I don't change anything between syncs, the database will switch back and forth between those two sizes.

The local copies on the two machines mirror the size that they generate when synched. Both systems use compression, but according to the properties dialog, the on-disk size versus the actual size is the same.

I haven't detected any problems or data loss, so I don't believe this is creating a problem, but it is a curiosity.

I looked for a previous note about size, but didn't see one - my apologies if I missed it.

Jim

• Paul
    Paul
    2013-11-04

KeePass compresses the database by default - File > Database Settings > Compression. Different versions of Windows produce differing levels of compression. To confirm this is the issue turn compression off on all databases / computers.

cheers,Paul

• steelej
    steelej
    2013-11-04