jet
2009-02-11
2013-05-28
  • jet
    jet
    2009-02-11

Hello!
    Thanks for this library!
    I'm using jpod for text extraction in lucene indexing.
    Because of I'm new in pdf and jpod I have one problem with parsing: jpod parses some documents in one letter per row.
    I tried to solve it, but failed. I've found no comments about this. I was looking for page orientation, its dimensions etc.
    My code:
    <code>
    package de.intarsys.pdf;

import java.io.File;
    import java.io.IOException;

import de.intarsys.pdf.content.CSDeviceBasedInterpreter;
    import de.intarsys.pdf.content.text.CSTextExtractor;
    import de.intarsys.pdf.parser.COSLoadException;
    import de.intarsys.pdf.pd.PDDocument;
    import de.intarsys.pdf.pd.PDPage;
    import de.intarsys.pdf.pd.PDPageTree;
    import de.intarsys.pdf.pd.PDResources;
    import de.intarsys.tools.locator.FileLocator;

public class Main2 {

protected static PDDocument document;

/**
         * @param args
         */
        public static void main(String[] args) {
            try {
                File file = new File("/home/jet/Desktop/pdf/6310i_usersguide_en.pdf");
                FileLocator locator = new FileLocator(file);
                locator.setReadOnly();
                document =  PDDocument.createFromLocator(locator);

PDPageTree pageTree = document.getPageTree();
                PDPage page = pageTree.getPageAt(0);

CSTextExtractor extractor = new CSTextExtractor();
                PDResources pdr = page.getResources();
                CSDeviceBasedInterpreter interpreter = new CSDeviceBasedInterpreter(null, extractor);
                interpreter.process(page.getContentStream(), pdr);

String contents = extractor.getContent();
                System.out.println(contents);
            } catch (IOException e) {
                e.printStackTrace();
            } catch (COSLoadException e) {
                e.printStackTrace();
            } finally {
                try {