Java Interactive Profiler and OC4J

Help
Beldin108
2008-07-30
2013-04-17
  • Beldin108
    Beldin108
    2008-07-30

I'm attempting to profile a web app running inside Oracle Containers for Java (oc4j). At start up I specify -javaagent:<location of the profile.jar> and -Dprofile.properties=<location>/webapp.profile.properties.

Everything starts up fine, I run the app a couple of times to get everything loaded and then turn on the profiler. I run the test turn off the profiler a look at the log and the only methods that are getting profiled are oracle.oc4j.network.*. 

Next run I turned on debug and it became clear why my app wasn't getting profiled. The log was filled with <Time stamp> Catch: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException
    <Time stamp> skip <my.app.class> [oracle.classloader.PolicyClassLoader]

I guess my first question is does JIP work with oc4j? I suspect I'm missing something trivial here but I'm relatively new to profiling Java code. Heck, I'm relatively new to Java being an old C programmer learning a new bag of tricks.

I've gotten this working just fine on standalone Java code and it's proved very useful. I'd like to do the same for a web app running in a container.

• Andrew Wilcox
      Andrew Wilcox
      2008-07-31

JIP instruments based on ClassLoaders, and unfortunately each container (i.e., Tomcat, JBoss, oc4j) uses a different ClassLoader hierarchy. In the JIP distribution, look in doc/readme.html for the section entitled "How can I control which classes and packages JIP profiles?". This should give you the information you need to get JIP working with oc4j. If you have any other questions or issues, just let me know.

Thanks,

Andrew.

• Beldin108
        Beldin108
        2008-08-02

A little playing around with the GenericClassLoadeFilter and accept-class-loader got me a long way towards getting this to work. There were some issues with oc4j itself notably that the