Help
matthew
2007-09-07
2013-04-17
  • matthew
    matthew
    2007-09-07

Hi,

I'm a University student from Australia and part of my current team project is to look at the internal workings of an opensource program, we choose JIP. Reverse engineering, basic UML diagrams, describe program flow etc...

We are understanding most of it, and are really impressed with how it all works.  ASM libraries... wow!

I was hoping that someone might be able to help our understanding in a few area's.  The biggest thing I am having trouble with is understanding what the com.mentorgen.tools.instrument.clfilter package does (especially the ClassLoaderFilter).  I have read the documentation, but seem unable to grasp what is happening.

Any help in this area, and in any other JIP areas would be really appreciated!

*sobs* Have pity on poor uni students...

• Andrew Wilcox
      Andrew Wilcox
      2007-09-08

Hi,

I'd be happy to help you out! I'm going to assume that you've already read doc/classloader.html, but were confused because it's so poorly written :(

Background: in Java classes are loaded by classloaders. In fact, there is a hierarchy of classloaders that looks like this:

Bootstrap
          |
      Extensions
          |
      Application

The bootstrap classloader loads the core classes that are part of the JDK. Classes in the java.* and sun.* packages fall into this category. The extensions classloader loads standard extensions (http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/docs/guide/extensions/spec.html), which are either in $JAVA_HOME/lib/ext or are specified with the -Djava.ext.dirs=... JVM argument. The application classloader loads the classes that are in the classpath. This is how standalone applications work, however containers like Tomcat or JBoss are a little more complicated, so I'll address those later on.