Some rantings about jGuard and JAAS

2008-03-31
2013-05-08
  • Hector Lopez
    Hector Lopez
    2008-03-31

Hi.

I'm currently looking for a security project to add to a base architecture for my upcoming projects and found about jGuard searching in the wikipedia.

I'm new to it, just a pair of days reading docs and code (v1.0.3), but i will be glad to have some insight from you on some spots.

1- Why does jGuard need to administer my users and roles? I understand that i can provide custom loginmodule/authmanager, but even that, the philosophy seems to remain deeply rooted to jGuard. In a user-service oriented webapp, user management and caching has so many desing involvements that integrating jGuard will break the application. More on that, Hibernate benefits and optimization opportunities are greatly diminished when half of the data has something to do with users and roles. What do you think about this? The first solution that comes to my mind is to use minimal users and roles in jGuard and use the stored ids to map users in the code.
    2- v1.1.0 is still in beta, do you have some roadmap or schedules for us to see?

Thanks.

• Charles Lescot
      Charles Lescot
      2008-04-13

HI,
      thanks for your comments.
      about your questions:
      1- when you use jGuard, you use JAAS and jGuard on top of it.
      so, you can provide some custom loginModules, and don't use  AuthenticationManager/AuthorizationManager implementations provided.
      i'm agree that if use jGuard out of the box, the philosophy of user and role management will be driven by it.
      your management will rely on an advanced Role Based Access Control model(RBAC) called ABAC (attribute based access control).
      about design involvement, and issues which break applications, can you explain a little bit more, if you can with one example?
      about Hibernate benefits and optimization lowered with user an droles data, can you give some details?