Help
DGSL
2007-05-16
2012-10-06
  • DGSL
    DGSL
    2007-05-16

Hello

I am a complete newbie on Linux so I am not able to try to install your server on it

But the software looks so interesting to me that I am trying to check it out on a Windows XP with Apache (just to may start developing the client pages even if I later change to a Linux server whenever I'm able to do it)

So, my server does apparently work. If I load the following page from any browser ...

http://my-server-IP/fcgi-bin/IIPImageServer.fcgi

... I get the typical welcome message "Internet Imaging Protocol Server, Version 0.9.6, Project Home Page: http://iipimage.sourceforge.net, by Ruven Pillay & Denis Pitzalis"

My problem arises when I try to load some files in a browser using the simplest HTML code you show in your "clients" page, something like this:

http://my-server-IP/fcgi-bin/iipsrv.fcgi?FIF=/fotos/test.tif&WID=400&CVT=JPEG

I always get a strange file called "IIPisAMadGameClosedToOurUnderstanding-25.netfpx"
    I guess it is an error message from the server, since its content is "Error/7:1 3 fif"

I supose that the FIF function of the server is not being able to find the "test.tif" file, but actually I am not sure because I have not found any documentation about the IIPimage server error messages. Is there any?
    It might also mean that my pyramidal tiff sample file is not well constructed? (I have made it with ImageMagick). Is there any sample tiff pyramidal file that I can download and put in my server, just to be sure that my sample file is OK?

My test.tif file is in the Windows directory "C:\fotos", I have tried several paths in the above HTML request, like:
    .../IIPImageServer.fcgi?FIF="C:/fotos/test.tif"&WID=400&CVT=JPEG
    .../IIPImageServer.fcgi?FIF=C:/fotos/test.tif&WID=400&CVT=JPEG
    .../IIPImageServer.fcgi?FIF=fotos/test.tif&WID=400&CVT=JPEG
    but all of them return the same error file and, as I don't understand the kind of error it is, I don't know what to do.