List of free tools to make/use Forms Apps ?

Help
james
2012-05-26
2014-01-19
  • james
    james
    2012-05-26

Is there a list of free GUI tools to make & use Forms to access HSQLDB ?

I am a novice to HSQLDB & client/server db's.  I want to design a small single-user database, accessed using smart Forms incorporating the main features available in MS Access, i.e subforms, picklists, comboboxes, radio buttons, Switchboards for menu navigation  etc.  So I need a good open-source tool to build the Forms and the underlying queries and macros to bind the GUI to the tables.  Does anybody know of any recent comparative reviews of this type of tool ?

HSQLDB.org only lists a basic DB Swing Manager & Libre/Open Office Suite for a Forms based front end.  Surely there must be a much wider choice than 1 ?

I use a small Windows7 platform, so dont want any heavy-weight tools. 

I also want a Design Tool to ideally allow creation of toplevel ERD's, model validation, generation of SQL code for target RDBMS, effectively an IDE.

Before posting this I searched your forum 'front ends' and saw some recommendations in 2003, but they looked either commercial, or fairly low-level direct access to the tables, rather than for making/using MS Access stlye forms based and validated access. 

I thank you for your help.

• Fred Toussi
    Fred Toussi
    2012-05-28

Opensource choices are limited. The same for wordprocessors, spreadsheets, wysiwyg html editors, etc. I don't know of anything that is as simple as OOo to use, yet more powerful.

If OOo is not quite adequate for your needs, it would be helpful in the long run if you inform LibreOffice and Apache OpenOffice devs about your needs, in order to encourage future developments of OOo base.

• Fred Toussi
    Fred Toussi
    2012-07-04

BTW, Jaspersoft's iReport does the report part and has a GPL version.

• james
    james
    2012-07-04