Oracle TPC-H refresh test fails

Madhura
2013-11-05
2013-11-12
  • Madhura
    Madhura
    2013-11-05

I am trying to run the TPC-H tests on an Oracle database. I was able to build the schema and run the query part of the tests successfully. When I change the driver options to enable refresh, and I create a virtual user and start it, I am getting the following errors:

Vuser 1:Error in cursor 2:oratcl0.2 ORA-02291: integrity constraint (TPCH.LINEITEM_ORDER_FK) violated - parent key not found
    Vuser 1:Error in cursor 2:oratcl0.2 ORA-02291: integrity constraint (TPCH.LINEITEM_ORDER_FK) violated - parent key not found
    Vuser 1:Error in cursor 1:oratcl0.1 ORA-02291: integrity constraint (TPCH.ORDER_CUSTOMER_FK) violated - parent key not found

and so on.

Has anyone seen this and were you able to resolve it? If so, can you share your experience and what you did to resolve this issue?

This is my first time working on TPC-H and Oracle databases, so please forgive my ignorance.

Thanks,
    Madhura

• Steve Shaw
    Steve Shaw
    2013-11-06

Hi,

It appears from the error that you have run the refresh function previously and are attempting to re-run it. There are some details in the documentation on this http://hammerora.sourceforge.net/hammerora_oracle_dss_v2.7.pdf - the refresh function can only be run on a new schema once (this is based on the TPC-H specification) - once it has been run the schema needs to be refreshed (eg datapump export and import) to run it again otherwise you see constraint violations for both existing and missing keys as the refresh function both inserts and deletes rows. Although its not covered in the documentation (it does need updating) if running with one virtual user it is a special case and it does a power test by running an insert refresh - query stream and delete refresh. Otherwise to run the refresh stream you need multiple virtual users with the first one doing the refresh and the rest doing the queries.