MAKE A MULTI LIVE DISTRO DVD

Benny
2006-12-07
2013-02-08
  • Benny
    Benny
    2006-12-07

Hi Etienne,

My aim is to create a "swiss knife" DVD containing several distribution Linux+WIN in one go. (i.e Knoppix, puppy, backtrack, BartPE, Ultimate Boot.... anything I like)

For several weeks I studied the problem and gone around on forums digging into a rational solution.

The ones I found around are all based on tricks and manually modified links for the several distributions. Very difficult to mantain each time a new release comes out.

Gujin made me dream but I could not finish my project. I spent alot of time on it and I hope you'd dedicate at least 1% the time I dedicated to your "son".

Here is were I arrived:

1) I created the first .iso bootable image using boot144.bin and I burned it in multisession mode with NERO7

2) I mounted "as they are" my iso images on as virtual CD (using deamon-tools under windows, or also using mount -o loop under linux)

3) I burned the DVD with NERO appending the mounted disk as a new session

4) goto 2) (another ISO)

5) Turn on the computer: GREAT !!! Gujin recognized ALL my ISOs (sessions) and proposed me a few opportunities to boot (I was also clever burning each session under a meaninful disk label)

6) made a choice, the boot is aborted because there is no "SPACE" ....WHY ???

I am so close to the solution that I am getting mad. Please give me a clue to finish...

Sincerely
    Benny

Additional questions: is it true Gujin recognizes ISOs files so I can skip pass 2 ?

• Benny
      Benny
      2006-12-10

Episode 2
      I spent some more time on this matter trying to make it easy (no DVD, no Multisession for the moment) since each CD erase, burn and reboot takes  quite long (I don't want to use emulators which may misslead)

I started with a very little distribution (Puppy linux) to miminize the burning time

I extracted the ISO in my "dvdroot" directory then I built the iso