Installing 0.4.0

Anonymous
2011-12-08
2013-03-15
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)

• Anonymous
    2011-12-08

There are detailed instructions for installing "legacy" Guacamole 0.3.0.  There are instructions for building the 0.4.0 libraries and guacd, which I built from source.  What is just the "guacamole" 0.4.0 download in the file list?  Excuse my ignore but I'm completely new to java webapps.  Are there instructions for building and/or installing this?  The legacy 0.3.0 don't seem to apply.  There isn't a .war file in there.

• Michael Jumper
    Michael Jumper
    2011-12-08

The "guacamole" download is the web application. All components (web application, guacd, and the libraries) are required for Guacamole to work.

The web application would be deployed to a servlet container like Tomcat, but the web application does not understand VNC or other remote desktop protocols - it only understands the Guacamole protocol (intended to be a text-based superset of the operations of most remote desktop protocols).

To translate between VNC and other remote desktop protocols, guacd accepts connections from the web application and acts as a proxy. The web application is the only component that performs authentication, and it is the result of this authentication that decides what configuration to use (which protocol and server to use guacd to connect to, etc.) when connecting through guacd.

While guacd provides the means for the web application to connect to other remote desktops using a common protocol, it also doesn't directly support the remote desktop protocols used. Client plugins (like libguac-client-vnc) provide protocol support, connecting as clients to whichever remote desktop server is requested, and drawing to the Guacamole client as a remote display using the Guacamole protocol.

So, overall:

guacamole - Web application containing the client users will actually interact with. Supports the Guacamole protocol, and requires guacd to connect to remote desktops.