Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Further development?

Help
GHad
2008-02-19
2013-05-08
  • GHad
    GHad
    2008-02-19

Hello,

my name is Gerhard Balthasar and I'm using groovy actively since version 1.5, but followed the line earlier. I recently stumbled upon this great Eclipse plugin here and although I did not investige very deep, I fell in love. As a Java/Groovy developer I always have some nice ideas to ease my dev-day and with Groovy Monkey I would really like to get it done.

But... I noticed the plugin only works for Eclipse 3.2 :-( (Tried it with v3.3 europe release)

I like, need and want the features from v3.3 and the upcoming Eclipse 3.4. And I would love to customize them with Groovy Monkey for my daily development, refactoring, utilization, web lookups, build environment, templating projects/workingsets and so on. I'm full of ideas to realize...

So can you please tell me, if and when a version for Eclipse 3.3 (and groovy 1.5 :-) will be available?

Best regards and very good work,

Gerhard Balthasar

PS: I didn't read about for example adding a button to a view, registering a filetype to a script/editor or adding a builder/nature to a project. Is this possible? Does Groovy Monky provide some kind of startup/shutdown hook?

• James E. Ervin
      James E. Ervin
      2008-02-19

I find it surprising that you say that the plugin does not work with Eclipse 3.3 (Europa), I have been using it with little trouble.  What are your problems?  Could you send me a screenshot or your error log (under your workspace directory $workspace/.metadata/.log file?  I would be very interested to see what is going on.  In fact I was able to play with it using Eclipse 3.4 M4 without trouble.