Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

OCR Plugin in RC4

Jon Canale
2012-10-22
2013-01-20
  • Jon Canale
    Jon Canale
    2012-10-22

I see that the OCR plugin operation has been changed in RC4.  Sorry, but I liked the way it worked in RC2 much better.  I liked the ability to select OCR by left-clicking the taskbar icon as I needed the function.  In RC4 I have to go into Preferences > Destination and check OCR, or go to Quick Preferences and slide over to Destination and then click OCR.

Is there a way to bring back the previous operation in the ini file??

Great plugin - I've been using it for several months - very handy!

• Robin Krom
    Robin Krom
    2012-10-22

Hi,

I guess you don't use/like our dynamic destination picker?
    Currently this is not possible, I had some small problems and while making OCR work with Windows in 64bit, I found it easier to remove the hotkey/menu entry.
    Will bring it back in RC5, at least until we make all actions completely configurable.

P.s.
    Thank you for your feedback.

Best wishes,
    Robin

• Robin Krom
    Robin Krom
    2012-10-22

Can you please write why don't use the dynamic destination picker? This makes it possible to use whatever capture input, and pass it to the ocr destination.

• Jon Canale
    Jon Canale
    2012-10-22

I'm sorry!  I didn't spot that functionality!  I can live with that - I just tried it - that will do the job nicely!

I'm sorry to have bothered you - I just chalked one up in the "user didn't read documentation" column.

• Robin Krom
    Robin Krom
    2012-10-22

Don't be sorry, we really like feedback!! This usually means we should really write some FAQ's and other tips/hints.

Do you think it's better like that, because it doesn't force you to think about what key to use or where the context menu entry is?

P.S.