Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Problems with importing recipies from webpage

Help
2005-10-19
2013-05-14
  • I just downloaded this program, and i'm having a tough time getting it to import from webpages, even the ones listed in the help file.  regardless of what i do, it never imports them.  For instance, the first listing is for allrecipes.com in the help file.  I went to that page, and (for instance), i went to this page:
    http://beef.allrecipes.com/az/AsianBeefWithSnowPeas.asp
    I could not import anything from that page, even tho the recipe is right there. 

Since i'm brand new to this (and anything using linux at all honestly), can someone detail the method which would give me results about how to add recipies via the import website function?  A direct, working example would be best!
    Thanks for your time!
    Soth

• tom
      tom
      2005-10-20

fwiw, I'm working on a generic HTML importer that will mean that that dialog will never fail -- only be more work when Gourmet doesn't know the structure of the page. That will mean a *much* nicer experience for everyone...

In the mean time... could you run gourmet from a terminal and then post the error you're getting?

• thank you for responding!  :)
      i ran the debug mode and this is the tail end of the log, from the point i asked it to import a recipe (in this instance, i happened to use allrecipes.com, Bourbon Chicken)
      I hope this helps!
      Soth

DEBUG:  gourmet\importers\importer.pyo: 41 Using existing keymanager
      DEBUG:  gourmet\GourmetThreads.pyo: 26 SuspendableThread starting thread.
      DEBUG:  gourmet\GourmetRecipeManager.pyo: 1097 starting thread
      DEBUG:  gourmet\GourmetRecipeManager.pyo: 1098 PRE_HOOKS=[<function <lambda> at
      0x0249C730>, <function show_progress_dialog at 0x0249C3F0>, <function <lambda> a