Additional Import Format Support

2008-05-19
2013-05-14
  • Ed Philpott
    Ed Philpott
    2008-05-19

I recently installed the Gourmet Recipe Manager program on my Vista PC and have started adding my recipe collection. Some of my files are in TXT format and import fine. Most of my recipes are in MS DOC format and it will be a major job to convert them one by one to TXT format. Since Open Office can read DOC files then the format of DOC must be known to the Open Source community. Is it possible or probable to add import support for DOC files? Alternately, is there a program that will batch convert DOC files to either TXT or RTF format? Also, since I am a programmer (retired) where can I find the format for DOC files. Perhaps I could write a program to do the conversion.
    Thanks,
    Ed Philpott, Ottawa, Canada

• Ben L
      Ben L
      2008-05-19

You might want to try http://wvware.sourceforge.net/#wv, it's a library, and that link goes directly to some DOC to x conversions.

• Daydreamer1504
    Daydreamer1504
    2011-11-07

Hi Folks,

at first my compliments for Gourmet. It's a good program with a lot of potential!!!