Any interesting projects?

tom lange
2009-04-20
2013-05-30
  • tom lange
    tom lange
    2009-04-20

Greetings,

I recently got this running on my Mac and finished up a busy period.  Now I'm eager to spend some time with this program and am interested in hearing what other people are doing with Gnaural besides sleep and deep meditation.  I'm certainly planning on exploring that but there's limitless possibilities. 

I'd also like to hear from people embedding their own music - I've been a musician for most of my life and have always been planning on working with binaural beats and my own music... didjeridus, Tibetan singing bowls and gongs for the most part.  The combination should be quite potent but I'm a bit overwhelmed and trying to figure out where to start. 

Peace through music,
    Tom

• gnaural
      gnaural
      2009-05-08

Hey Tom, i like your sentiments. I find it is good to "keep things simple", 85% of whatever one wants to achieve seems possible with 15% of the effort, then 85% of the effort is to achieve that extra 15% of the goal :) Where am i going here... well, take the default schedule in Gnaural -- it looks so intricate, but i am sure that if i just erased all of it and and locked one binaural beat voice at 3.8Hz, i'd get the basic effect of the current one, just not all the minute parts that subtly help induce the state i am looking for ("spikes" to keep me awake, gradual decent, base frequency shift, pink noise, etc.). But the beat is there, and i can lock on to it.

And while you may lose 15% of the effectiveness or whatever, the benefit is that now you can slide that one datapoint to new frequencies without having to move all the other baggage around with it.