Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Build issues

Developers
2009-05-08
2013-05-15
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • Hello everybody!

First, I want to say that my background is mainly from the Linux side -- I am new to OS X and I just discovered macports 2 days ago, so apologies if the following is obvious for you...

It all started with a plugin I wanted to have in Gimp. Since I have installed the 'GIMP on OS X' version from Lisanet, I understand that I need the same environment to compile my plugin, so I started by re-compiling the GIMP using the resources from this project.

I have a freshly installed iMac intel with latest OS X Leopard, and just downloaded the latest XCode bundle from apple. I don't have fancy things installed, and definitely no MacPort or Fink.

I have downloaded the 'Gimp on OS X'  from here (SVN 51), and started the build.

I ran into a couple of issues:

1) Message: Failed to parse file x11/gtk2/Portfile: invalid command name "port:gtk-doc"
    It seems to be an easy one, there is a missing '\' on line 63 in  'x11/gtk2/Portfile':
       63 depends_build   port:pkgconfig
       64         port:gtk-doc

2) xrender fail to build with the following error message:
            checking for X... configure: error: Package requirements (x11) were not met:
            No package 'x11' found
    I am not sure how to handle this one. I have checked my installed binaries dowloaded from Lisanet, and they are linked with the OS-X X11 libraries, not the MacPorts ones, so we do not need the x11 MacPort.
    I fudged the 'x11/xrender/Portfile':
       56     if {${os.major} < 9 && ![file exists ${prefix}/lib/pkgconfig/x11.pc]} {
    changed to:
       56     if {${os.major} <= 9 && ![file exists ${prefix}/lib/pkgconfig/x11.pc]} {
    to get rid of the dependency.
    It now compiles properly, but I doubt this was the right thing to do...