#916 Conflicting Keyboard shortcut in "reload file" dialog

v1.23
closed-fixed
nobody
Interface (176)
5
2012-11-28
2012-11-15
dregad
No

Running Geany 1.22 on Ubuntu 12.10

When a file has been modified outside of Geany, the program detects the change, and offers a confirmation dialog.

The problem is that buttons 'Close' and 'Cancel' both have the same shortcut (Alt-C), as shown in the attached screenshot, which sort of defeats the purpose of having a shortcut as it becomes a 2-step process to activate the button.

I suggest e.g. to change the shortcut letter for 'Close' to 'L', or to remove the shortcut for Cancel (one can use the 'ESC' key).

It would also be nice to have an option to apply the same choice to all files.

Cheers

Discussion

  • Lex Trotman
    Lex Trotman
    2012-11-15

    • status: open --> open-accepted
     
  • Lex Trotman
    Lex Trotman
    2012-11-15

    Not sure how we are going to fix this, its really a GTK bug, both Cancel and Close are stock items, and commonly on the same dialog, so GTK gives them the same shortcut :(

    Because they are translatable we can't just go changing the nmemonic character in a fixed way.

     
  • Amit Sengupta
    Amit Sengupta
    2012-11-23

    Why don't we remove the close button? It'll resolve the conflict. And I guess there is no use of close button in a reload dialog.

     
  • Lex Trotman
    Lex Trotman
    2012-11-23

    Close is useful on the reload dialog, when you don't need the file open any more, you don't have to cancel then go close it and answer no to the save dialog.

     
  • Amit Sengupta
    Amit Sengupta
    2012-11-24

    When I press cancel and then go to close the file, I don't know why but there is no save dialog popping up.

    The dialog reads "The file 'sample.xyz' on the disk is more recent than the current buffer." Do you want to reload it?
    Instead of having "Close" "Cancel" and "Reload" we can have "Close" "No" and "Yes" (as YES and No are also stock items)

     
  • Lex Trotman
    Lex Trotman
    2012-11-24

    You are right, I have confused changed file with deleted file where it does become an unsaved file.

    Yes/no sounds a possible solution to me, but for UI changes you need to check on the mailing list that there are no major problems with the change first.

     
  • Nick Treleaven
    Nick Treleaven
    2012-11-28

    • milestone: --> v1.23
    • status: open-accepted --> closed-fixed
     
  • Nick Treleaven
    Nick Treleaven
    2012-11-28

    I've now fixed this in Git with buttons:
    [_Close] [_No] [_Reload]

    Using [_Yes] instead of reload would also work.
    Thanks for reporting.

     
  • dregad
    dregad
    2012-11-28

    Many thanks for the fix, looking forward to the next release :-)