Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Problem configuring GAG to boot PCBSD

Benjamin
2007-01-30
2013-05-28
  • Benjamin
    Benjamin
    2007-01-30

Dear friends:

I have repeatedly failed to install and configure the GAG Boot Manager in order to dual boot WinXP and PCBSD. Can you please help me?

Here is a full-length guide to using GAG. I studied it carefully, printed it out and tried several times to configure it but still can't get it to launch PCBSD:

GAG home page:
    http://gag.sourceforge.net/
    (Latest version : gag47

http://users.bigpond.net.au/hermanzone/p12.htm

Here is exactly what I did:

I have two physical drives (hda and hdb or disk 0 and disk 1).

1) I did a fresh install of Windows XP on disk 0. Works fine.

2) I then installed PCBSD 1.3.01, the latest version. I first downloaded PCBSD, checked its md5sum, everything was perfect, then burned it and then changed the Bios sequence to CD in order to install it.

3) During installation, I used the existing partitions on disk 1 (i.e. hdb) from a previous installation, which is as follows:

/ 28 GB -- Primary
    /home 6 GB -- Primary
    /swap 2 GB -- Primary
    /var 2 GB -- Extended

I selected / (28GB) to install PCBSD on and checked the bootloader in order to make sure PCBSD dual-boots with WinXP. I then went ahead and let PCBSD copy its files and install itself. Installation completed without a hitch. I removed the CD and rebooted.